';
Stepping into the Restaurant & Pub at Big Lake Grocery is like traveling back in time. While the local dining spot still retains its mom ‘n’ pop general store on the side, take a look at the bones of the building. Or should we say “buildings?” Big Lake Grocery is actually an amalgam of three different houses that were once owned by the Day Lumber Company – as was the entire town of Big Lake. Over its history, BLG has been a bathhouse, a post office, a laundry, and even a movie house.

In this incarnation, BLG is primarily a warm, friendly, local gathering spot serving hearty homestyle meals all day, along with plenty of Washington brews on tap (as well as all your favorite national and international beers and ales). It’s been family-owned for the last sixteen years, and we’re fully committed to making BLG the favorite hang in Mount Vernon and the Skagit Valley.

So if you’re tooling between Seattle and Bellingham, stop in for breakfast, coffee, a burger or salad, or just a frosty brew served with a smile and a genuine, “How ya doing?” Come visit us and step into a simpler, warmer, friendlier era.
Seahawks 2018 Schedule
WSU Cougar Football Schedule 2018
UW Husky Football Schedule 2018

© 2018 The BLG

Check out what they say about us

people like us......so should you

the blg facebook reviews facebook reviews for big lake grocery

  • review rating 0  What a wonderful eating experience!

    thumb Trisha Custard
    8/23/2018

    review rating 5  Great food!

    thumb James Graham
    8/23/2018

    review rating 0  Everything about Big Lake Grocery store is wonderful, from the staff to the food to the small town feel.

    thumb Gary R Best
    8/15/2018

    review rating 5  A cute little store with a phenomenal eatery. I was not expecting anything like it when stopping by. The Mac and cheese burger blew me away!

    thumb Melissa Kalles
    8/02/2018
  • review rating 5  Great 🍔 burgers, Mac N Jack's on tap

    thumb Jane Dubenic Hegwood
    6/03/2018

    review rating 5  A group of us had dinner here tonight, and I can’t say enough about the friendliness of the staff, or the quality of the food! We will definitely be back!

    thumb Beth Ward
    3/10/2018

    review rating 5  Best burgers in the valley and the staff is cool too

    thumb Aaron Churchill
    12/09/2017

    review rating 5  Great place, awesome food, beer was fantastic, happy staff!

    thumb Darrell J. Drummond
    8/19/2017
  • review rating 5  I love this store they have the best selection of local brews and great food

    thumb Nathanael Lowell Larvie
    9/11/2016

    review rating 5  Love the selection of movies, snacks, wine and beer. The beer garden is a nice retreat with friends after a long week!

    thumb Shelley Killmer Moser
    5/20/2016

    review rating 5  Greatest store with the coolest workers especially that handy man he is a handy man lol

    thumb Duane Anderson
    5/19/2016

    review rating 5  I have always received wonderful service each time I've been here. I also rented a storage unit behind the store and was so pleased with how easy it was to pay my monthly bill over the phone when I was out of town. Mike Mccoy (sp?) Is such a nice man to work with! I definitely recommend this place!

    thumb Sherri Fellows
    12/04/2015
  • review rating 5  This is my favorite lil community store ever! One time I was making pies and I was out of nutmeg. The beautiful young lady behind the counter said "we don't have any right now." Instead of leaving it at that, she took a little baggy and gave me a little so I could finish making my pies! You just don't see that kind of service any more. EVERYONE who works there is awesome!

    thumb Danielle Blackburn-Hansen
    11/25/2015

    review rating 5  Great people....great service! Love the locals. Gold star

    thumb Tracy Johns Frazier
    9/17/2015

    review rating 5  A handy little market. Love going there when at lake Cavanaugh.

    thumb Brady O'Kelley
    11/20/2013

    review rating 5  

    thumb Bob Ward
    3/10/2018
  • review rating 5  

    thumb Sheila Roberts
    2/28/2018

    review rating 5  

    thumb Rick Hart
    7/25/2017

    review rating 5  

    thumb Carrie Litke Hoyle
    7/02/2017

    review rating 5  

    thumb Chelsey Bray
    2/04/2017
  • review rating 5  

    thumb Jeff McKeon
    10/21/2016

    review rating 5  

    thumb Matthew Bassett
    10/10/2016

    review rating 5  

    thumb John Keefe
    9/18/2015

    review rating 5  

    thumb Karl Schinman
    8/22/2015
  • review rating 5  

    thumb Jessica Lee Matthews
    3/02/2015

    review rating 5  

    thumb Wes Jones
    3/01/2015

    review rating 5  

    thumb Jake Hutchison
    1/06/2015

    review rating 4  

    thumb Justin Scott
    6/28/2014
  • review rating 5  

    thumb Andrea McCollough
    4/27/2014

    review rating 5  

    thumb Colby Patterson
    4/17/2014

    review rating 5  

    thumb Aaron Denning
    2/02/2014

    review rating 4  

    thumb Nick Wylie
    1/04/2014
  • review rating 3  

    thumb Amanda Marie
    12/22/2013

    review rating 5  

    thumb Andrew Hollands
    12/20/2013

    review rating 5  

    thumb Tamara McBride McCoy
    12/14/2013

    review rating 5  

    thumb Jessaca Rose Black
    11/30/2013
  • review rating 5  

    thumb Meriel Shea Grell
    10/29/2013

    review rating 5  

    thumb DiAnn Wightman Cardona
    10/27/2013

    review rating 5  

    thumb Blair Frizzell
    10/07/2013

    review rating 5  

    thumb Avis DeLano
    9/15/2013

big lake grocery google reviews

  • review rating 5  Love this place. Have been coming here with my girlfriend to enjoy meals and last minute drinks on tap before they close. Staff are fantastic. friendly and funny. Always have some delicious local drinks on tap. Cider and beer. Hot damn the tater tots are great! Can't wait to revisit the BLG again

    thumb Spencer Forsyth
    9/08/2018

    review rating 5  Was a wonderful experience pleasant people ,quick service and with a smile. Will be going back, the food was excellant,says Sally lohr

    thumb Sally Lohr
    12/11/2017

    review rating 4  Good old lake store

    thumb Brian McMahan
    6/24/2018

    review rating 5  Great food, cold beer and plenty of room in the beer garden. This store/pub/restaurant has Friendly's taffeta and everything from soup to propane to outfit the local community. Don't forget the take and bake pizza, some of the best around. A must stop for a "not so out of the way spot".

    thumb Jeff Prestmo
    5/08/2017
  • review rating 5  Great food! Love the new breakfast menu!

    thumb Darrell Drummond
    12/11/2017

    review rating 5  Love our private Neighborhod Bar & Grill! Beer is cold, burgers rock! Service is great!

    thumb Michele Stoudt
    7/16/2017

  •   We enjoyed lunch here with a friend who also enjoyed the breakfast. The food is tasty and a good value. They have added salads recently and mine was very fresh.

    thumb Cathey F
    4/01/2018

      Spicy hot wings and good local beers. New owners. Hope they do well. It's a cool neighborhood hang out.

    thumb Jason G
    1/21/2018

      If you are looking to purchase a hamburger, a growler of beer, a bottle of wine, a dozen eggs, some shampoo and some fishing worms, this is a perfect place. The selection is fairly limited but everything you could need is there. Staff is friendly...More

    thumb Louise Rachel C
    10/11/2017

      We had heard that this neighborhood grocery also served some pretty good food, so we thought we'd give it a try. We ordered cheeseburgers and drinks and ate in their outdoor seating area. The burgers were good and I particularly liked that I could get...More

    thumb Roger E
    8/27/2017

  •   I live in Seattle, am surrounded by tons of trendy restaurants, and I still rather eat here at Big Lake Grocery than anywhere else. Their food is mindblowing. It's also nice to pick up convenience store fare before hitting the road or hiking trips. The service has always been super friendly too. My favorite is the Mac and cheese hamburger, while my husband adores their biscuits and gravy. You ought to get a side of fries with whatever you order because those things are also addictive.

    thumb Melissa K.
    8/13/2018

      Great community location! As a grocery store, they've got all the necessities. Great selection of beer and cider for there or to take in a growler. They also have a small restaurant there too where you can order at the counter. Food is delicious! The chicken strips are seriously so great, and their new breakfast menu is even better. Call ahead and they'll have breakfast waiting for you to grab and go on your way out of Big Lake. In the summer, they have a patio and beer garden. They even do events like beer tastings with breweries! They've got a great little sitting area with TVs and the local paper. Everyone's nice too. Great spot!

    thumb Kandace A.
    1/13/2018

      Nice little local store. Most of the basics you would need at last minute. They have about 5-6 beers on tap plus a decent beer selection. We just tried their burgers and let me say they are good. I my kids like the chicken strips they have. All they need now is a pizza oven..

    thumb Mitch R.
    1/31/2017

      The staff here is friendly and they have you're basics. It's a mom and pop type of store. It covers most emergency items you would need and then some stuff you don't need but buy anyway. The biggest thing is it will save you a trip into town but it will cost you just as much going in or more.

    thumb Glenn S.
    7/31/2014
  •   THE historical big lake grocery! Very proud to be the first review here.

    This is exactly as it seems a small store right on your way to big lake where you know you will always be greeted with a smile and a good laugh.

    thumb Trevor D.
    11/16/2013

Online orders are coming soon......BUT NOT YET, so orders will not be processed. Dismiss